Date Posted

October 31, 2022

Known as a ‘champion for positive relations with the commercial transportation industry,’ Steve Callahan, who served the industry for 38 years, is the recipient of AMTA’s 2022 Historical Award.

This annual Award celebrates individuals who have dedicated their lives to industry and preserving its memories.

“I want to thank the AMTA for this recognition,” Callahan says. “I was always proud to represent Alberta and our industry – provincially, nationally, and internationally. I have always believed success only happens when we collaborate effectively. Together, we can achieve highway safety, while maintaining an economical advantage for the industry.”

The Historical Award is given to a person who, ideally, has contributed 30+ years to industry and continues to share valuable input to help industry grow.

“Through my relatively small window of Steve’s overall career prior to his retirement, it was easy to see why he was a collaborator, a partner,” says co-nominator Jude Groves, immediate past chair of AMTA’s Board of Directors. “It’s a great legacy when you can still feel the impact that someone left on an organization ingrained in how he or she does business years after the person has departed.”

Carl Rosenau, an AMTA board member who co-nominated Callahan echoes Groves’ comments.

“From the first time I met Steve, I knew he was a no-nonsense government employee who had a very good understanding and passion for the trucking industry,” he says. “Steve was so approachable if you had any issues. He always had time for you.”

At the time of his retirement, Callahan said he will continue his work as Commissioner with the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies. He hinted his post-career life would include fishing on the Little Bow, and, “hopefully, training a new dog.”

About AMTA Awards
Every year, AMTA celebrates the achievements of commercial transportation industry professionals who go above and beyond in their field. Winners are selected in six categories:

  • Associate Carrier of the Year Award
  • Driver of the Year
  • Historical Award
  • Friend to Industry Award
  • Safety Person of the Year
  • Dean Paisley Service to Industry Award

> > > All 2022 award-winners